Blue Bottle Mystery: An Asperger Adventure

Asperger is really an adventure and sometimes we need a different view to deal with it.

This book is one of the finest examples to get to understand it better.

Readers love Blue Bottle Adventure and it is quite inspirational. Portada

I paste here the comments on google books because I find them quite illustrative:

`I read this book in under an hour and then imm

ediately picked it up and read it again, much to my brother’s disappointment (‘It’s my book!’) It is a story that succeeds in the challenge parents and siblings have been faced with for years – how to explain what Autism is without drowning people amidst technical terms and psychology.

It contains a lot of information whilst still being an intriguing tale of a boy’s adventure that would excite any child whether they had autism or not. It was a wonderful to listen to my brothers cries of ‘Oh now I understand,’ ‘ I do that,’ ‘ Aspergers – that’s what I have.’ The story highlights the problems for family and friends of Autistic children and for the children themselves and allow

s the reader to take up their part in the story. It provides advice and support, a good explanation of Autism and a heart-warming story. We shall have to buy another copy because both my brother and I love it too much to let the other have a read.

My only criticism is that it does not make a good bed-time story as my brother would not go to sleep; he wanted to hear more of the story and tell me more about what he had read. Congratulations on a truly wonderful book. Best of luck.’ – Clare Truman (age 14)

This is a warm, fun-filled fantasy story for children with a difference: the hero is Ben, a boy with Asperger Syndrome.

When Ben and his friend Andy find an old bottle in t

he school yard, they little realize the surprises about to be unleashed in their lives. Bound up with this exciting mystery is the story of how Ben is diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome and how he and his family deal with the problems and joys that come along. Blue Bottle Mystery is a delight to read that is more than just another kid’s book.

For the first time, the issues and frustrations that a child may have with Asperger Syndrome are explored within a fictional format especially for children. Its portrayal of Ben as the central character offers other children with autistic spectrum disorders and their peers a positive role model. It is

a valuable teaching tool that demystifies children with Asperger Syndrome, justifying their individuality as valid and interesting.

In Blue Bottle Mystery Kathy Hoopmann has combined her love of children with her passion for fantasy literature to produce a delightful read for anyone who loves an adventure and wants a unique insight into the mind of an Asperger child.

She is adorable.
Read her description and you will understand why!

About Me

I was born in Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia on a small farm, surrounded by lots of animals, a huge orchard and vegetable patch, two brothers, two sisters, two parents and two grandmothers. I lived there for twenty years, then moved to Brisbane, where I stayed another twenty years. During that time, I became a primary school teacher, married, completed a Graduate Diploma in Theology in Education, had three great children and started writing. In 2003 my family and I moved to Dubai in the United Arab Emirates where I was blessed to do a great deal of travelling, to see amazing things, to meet wonderful eclectic people, and to write lots more books. We lived there until early 2016, but circumstances drew us back to Brisbane where I live once again.

But that is not who I am…

I’m an optimist. I trust people. I smile at strangers and love seeing a glimpse into their souls as they smile back. I enjoy doing random acts of kindness and am always amazed at how a simple act can have enormous ripple effects. I have a deep love for my God and have joy and peace knowing that Christ loves me, despite knowing who I really am. Although I thrive on other people’s vibes, I go slightly crazy if I don’t get time alone. I grow through meeting people who think differently from me and in turn, make me think. I love to travel and to experience sights and sounds and tastes of the unusual. One of my greatest delights is walking in the rain. I feel exhilarated when I write and my characters do the unexpected. I enjoy hot showers on a cold day and the smell of home cooking. I hate lies, injustice, bullies, loud opinionated people, and chewing gum on my shoes.

That’s me.

About Adriana Butnariu

http://about.me/adriana.butnariu
This entry was posted in autism, books, child care, education, reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

